FAQ – Espace-Bois

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

When will the order be delivered and where do we ship?

Production and delivery time depend on the quantity of product you ordered and its finish. Production takes 3 to 5 weeks. We ship everywhere.

Where is our charred wood produced and where do we get our wood?

Our raw materials’ quality and origin are crucial aspects. We harvest our wood in Quebec and transform it in our plant in Kamouraska. We perform all steps along the way and therefore control the end result’s constancy and quality.

What is the difference between charred wood and
torrefied wood?

Torrefied wood is obtained by heating (baking) the product at high temperature to lower its internal humidity (by 6 to 8%), conferring it excellent dimensional stability for interior use. However, when it comes to outer applications, the product grays and cracks quickly. We don’t sell torrefied wood.


Charred wood is processed through a dryer and then stabilized to obtain the ideal level of humidity for exterior and interior use. Its surface is then charred, protecting it against weathering and UV rays. Furthermore, our charring and brushing techniques produce superb textures and hues.

What should I know in terms of installation?

You will receive a detailed installation guide for interior and exterior cladding. (The interior installation guide will be ready shortly.)

Is charred wood maintenance free?

Charred wood is a living product. For example, the Crocodile’s coal surface naturally protects wood fibers from wear – it will remain black, fading a little over time. A few weeks in, the colour will stabilize.

As for other finishes such as Jaguar, Cape Cod and Brooklyn, the fiber ages beautifully and develops a singular patina. You can either let the wood grain naturally acquire its patina or oil the cladding when you judge fit.

Is the product’s long-term result guaranteed?

All charred wood planks are produced with utmost attention. However, we do not guarantee the product’s long-term result, nor against phenomena such as shrinking, cracking and bending linked to the material’s ageing process.

We conducted a study with SEREX (which stands for Service de Recherche et d’Expertise en transformation des produits forestiers) on the following topics:

• Ageing process of our products;
• Dimensional stability over time; and
• Supply.

What should we refrain from doing?

Do not high-pressure wash the cladding – it could chip away its carbonized surface. In general, the use of a pressure washer is proscribed on any cladding. Use a wet rag to simply wash off finger marks, residue and dust accumulated on the product. In no time, it will find its initial beauty again.

FAQ – Espace-Bois
Foire aux questions

Quels sont les délais de fabrication et où livrons-nous?

Les délais de fabrication et de livraison varient selon la quantité demandée et le fini désiré. Il faut compter de 3 à 5 semaines pour la production. Nous livrons partout au Canada.

Où est fabriqué notre bois brûlé? D’où proviennent nos bois?

La qualité et l’origine de notre matière première sont d’une grande importance. Notre bois provient du Québec et est transformé dans notre usine au Kamouraska. Nous accomplissons toutes les étapes et contrôlons ainsi la constance et la qualité du produit.

Quelle est la différence entre bois brûlé et bois torréfié?

Le bois torréfié est chauffé (cuit) à haute température pour baisser son taux d’humidité (6 à 8%) ce qui lui donne une excellente stabilité dimensionnelle pour une installation à l’intérieur. Cependant, à l’extérieur il a tendance à grisonner et fendiller rapidement.


Le bois brûlé est passé au séchoir et stabilisé pour un taux d’humidité idéal à l’extérieur comme à l’intérieur. Il est ensuite brûlé en surface ce qui le protège des intempéries et des rayons UV. De plus, les techniques de brûlage et brossage que nous utilisons donnent au bois des teintes et textures uniques et superbes.

Que faut-il savoir pour l’installation?

Nous avons conçu un manuel d’installation détaillé autant pour l’intérieur (à venir) que pour l’extérieur.

Le bois brûlé est-il un revêtement sans entretien?

Le bois brûlé est un produit vivant. Sur le crocodile, la couche de charbon a un effet protecteur sur la fibre de bois et permet d’éviter l’entretien en conservant le fini noir. La couche de carbone déteint légèrement, mais ce changement s’atténue après quelques semaines.

Pour les autres finis comme le Jaguar, Cape Cod et Brooklyn, le bois vieillit en beauté au fil des années et développe une patine bien à lui. Soit vous laissez le veinage du bois se patiner soit vous rehuilez le revêtement à votre convenance.

Garantissez-vous l’évolution du rendu?

Toutes les planches de bois brûlé sont produites avec la plus grande attention. Nous n’assurons pas la garantie sur l’évolution du rendu dans le temps, ni les phénomènes de retrait, fissuration ou déformations liés à l’évolution du matériau dans le temps.

Par contre, nous avons mené une étude auprès du SEREX (Service de Recherche et d’Expertise en transformation des produits forestiers):

• Sur le vieillissement de nos produits
• La stabilité dimensionnelle dans le temps
• L’approvisionnement.

Que doit-on éviter de faire?

Il ne faut pas nettoyer le revêtement à haute pression au risque d’écailler et d’enlever la couche de carbonisation. De manière générale, l’usage d’une laveuse à haute pression n’est pas recommandé sur un revêtement. Avec un simple chiffon humidifié, nettoyez régulièrement les traces de doigts, résidus et accumulation de poussière sur le produit afin de conserver sa beauté initiale.